New World Symphony Alumni

NWS Alumni


The New World Symphony has over 1,100 alumni making a difference in orchestras, ensembles and educational institutions around the world.

Here is a list of NWS musicians who have accepted positions during our 2018-19 season.

Paul Beck, Associate Librarian, Milwaukee Symphony
Myles Blakemore, Trombone, United States Naval Academy Band
Kathryn Brooks, Principal Bassoon, Winnipeg Symphony
Grace Browning, Principal Harp, Rochester Philharmonic
Kayla Burggraf, Piccolo, Kansas City Symphony
Nick Castellano, Acting Assistant Principal/Utility Horn, Cincinnati Symphony (eight-month)
Andrew Chilcote, Bass, Phoenix Symphony (one-year)
David Connor, Assistant Principal Bass, Houston Ballet Orchestra
Timothy Dilenschneider, Associate Principal Bass, Houston Symphony
Matthew Eckenhoff, Horn, Colorado Symphony
Christopher Fischer, Viola, Cincinnati Symphony
Tom Fleming, Second Bassoon, Dallas Symphony
Andrew François, Viola, St. Louis Symphony
Steven Franklin, Associate Principal/Second Trumpet, Kansas City Symphony
George Goad, Associate Principal Trumpet, Montreal Symphony
Kevin Gobetz, Bass, San Diego Symphony (six-month)
Sarah Harball Kienle, Viola, Dallas Symphony
Francisco Joubert Bernard, Second Bassoon, Louisville Philharmonic
Kristin Kall, Director of Operations, National Repertory Orchestra
Kelton Koch, Trombone/Academy Member, Vienna Philharmonic
Anne Lanzilotti, Co-Director of New Music Ensemble and Festival, The Tianjin Juilliard School, and
Curator of Music, The Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center
Jiali Li, Co-Principal Viola, Hong Kong Philharmonic
Si-Yan Darren Li, String Chamber Music Coordinator, Cleveland Institute of Music
Kenneth Liao, Violin, San Diego Symphony
Sodam Lim, Violin, Alabama Symphony (one-year)
Aspen McArthur, Assistant Librarian, Houston Symphony
Jarrett McCourt, Tuba, Winnipeg Symphony (one-year)
Esther Nahm, Viola, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra (one-year)
Ansel Norris, Second Trumpet, Naples Philharmonic
Anthony Parce, Viola, Nashville Symphony
Daniel Parrette, Principal Clarinet, Louisiana Philharmonic
Elizabeth Phelps, Violin, Seattle Baroque Orchestra
Derek Powell, Violin, National Symphony
Erich Rieppel, Principal Timpani, Minnesota Orchestra
Ryan Roberts, English Horn, New York Philharmonic
Dominic Rotella, Principal Horn, Richmond Symphony
Erik Rynearson, Principal Viola, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
Qianwen Shen, First Violin, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Xiaohan Sun, Viola, Dallas Symphony
Alex Wadner, Principal Timpani, Chattanooga Symphony and Opera
Audrey Wright, Associate Concertmaster, Baltimore Symphony
Jesse Yukimura, Viola, Kansas City Symphony

Here is a list of NWS musicians who have accepted positions during our 2017-18 season.

Matthew Abramo, Bass, Nashville Symphony
Grace An, Cello, Dallas Symphony
Jill Arbetter, Executive Director, Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition
Cecilia Belcher, Violin, Minnesota Orchestra
Joanna Blendulf, Cello, Indiana University
Kathryn Brooks, Bassoon, Winnepeg Symphony
Grace Browning, Harp, Rochester Philharmonic
Jennifer Choi, Cello, Colorado Symphony
Josh Cote, Horn, Sarasota Orchestra
Evan Epifanio, Bassoon, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
James Ferree, Horn, Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
Brenton Foster, Bassoon, Winnepeg Symphony
Andrew François, Viola, Los Angeles Philharmonic Resident Fellow
Michael Fuller, Bass, Los Angeles Philharmonic Resident Fellow
Patti Garvey, Cello, Grand Rapids Symphony
Hilary Glen, Cello, University of Alabama
Kevin Gobetz, Bass, Los Angeles Philharmonic (one-year)
Sarah Harball, Viola, Fort Worth Symphony
Christopher Hernacki, Bass Trombone, San Antonio Symphony (one-year)
Helen Hess, Viola, Baltimore Symphony
Darren Hicks, Bassoon, Toronto Symphony
Jennise Hwang, Violin, Pacific Symphony
Steven Jarvi, Artistic Director, Charlottesville Opera (interim)
Andrew Johnson, Percussion, Orchestre Symphonique de Quebec
Kerry Kavalo, Viola, Edmonton Symphony
Stephen, Kehner, Percussion, Utah Symphony (one-year)
Joseph Kelly, Percussion, Toronto Symphony
Kelton Koch, Trombone, Zurich Opera Praktikant
Melanie Lançon, Flute, Auckland Philharmonia (guest)
Peiming Lin, Violin, Indianapolis Symphony
Bradley Loudis, Percussion, Rochester Phiharmonic
Sean Maree, Bassoon, US Coast Guard Band
Michael McCarthy, Violin, Milwaukee Symphony
Jarrett McCourt, Tuba, Winnipeg Symphony (one-year)
Emerson Millar, Violin, Naples Philharmonic
Daniel Morris, Percussion, Kansas City Symphony (one-year)
Seth Morris, Flute, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Elizabeth Oka, Viola, Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra
Alex Orfaly, Timpani, California Symphony
Sarah Peters, Violin, Omaha Symphony
Elizabeth Phelps, Violin, Seattle Symphony
Rajesh Prasad, Percussion, North Carolina Symphony
David Raschella, Horn, Toledo Symphony
Jonathan Reed, Bass, Grand Rapids Symphony
Mary Reed, Bass, Saint Louis Symphony (one-year)
Jessica Ryou, Violin, North Carolina Symphony (one-year)
Kyle Sanborn, Bass, Calgary Philharmonic
Rachel Sandman, Violin, Kansas City Symphony (one-year)
Benjamin Scott, Violin, National Symphony
Matthew Searing, Librarian, Sarasota Orchestra
Abhijit Sengupta, Artistic Administrator, Baltimore Symphony
Ju Hyung Shin, Violin, Utah Symphony
Kathryn Sievers, Viola, Boston Symphony
Jessica Slais, Artistic Administrator, Nashville Symphony
Lora Tchekoratova, Artistic Director, Salon de Virtuosi
Kurt Tseng, Viola, Alabama Symphony
Matthew Way, Development Manager, American Classical Orchestra
Roman Yearian, Violin, Florida Orchestra

Here is a list of NWS musicians who have accepted positions during our 2016-17 season.

Zubaida Azezi, Violin, The Florida Orchestra
Ashton Bush, Librarian, New England Conservatory of Music
James Button, Oboe, San Francisco Symphony
Tommy Carpenter, Cello, Atlanta Symphony
Alison Chung, Oboe, Kansas City Symphony
Maya Cohon, Violin, San Francisco Opera
Tim Dilenschneider, Bass, Baltimore Symphony
Dima Dmitrova, Violin, Charlotte Symphony
Emma Gerstein, Flute, Chicago Symphony
Caroline Gilbert, Viola, Buffalo Philharmonic
Gary Ginstling, Executive Director, National Symphony
Christopher Hamlen, Bass, Detroit Symphony
Jory Herman, Bass, Los Angeles Philharmonic
Jennifer Hsieh, Violin, San Francisco Opera
Michael Jarrett, Percussion, Vancouver Symphony
Vivek Jayaraman, Violin, The Florida Orchestra
Ran Kampel, Clarinet, Jacksonville Symphony
Lisa Kim, Violin, Boston Symphony
Natsuki Kumagai, Violin, Minnesota Orchestra
Owen Levine, Bass, Kansas City Symphony
Si-Yan Li, Cello, Cavani String Quartet
Genevieve Micheletti, Violin, Calgary Philharmonic
Jane Mitchell, Viola, Naples Philharmonic
Derek Mosloff, Viola, The Florida Orchestra
Joseph Peters, Oboe, North Carolina Symphony
Joseph Petrasek, Percussion, Atlanta Symphony
Rebecca Reale, Violin, Los Angeles Philharmonic
Chris Riggs, Percussion, Milwaukee Symphony
Louis-Philippe Robillard, Cello, Utah Symphony
Russell Rybicki, Horn, Vancouver Symphony
Clare Semes, Violin, Toronto Symphony
Charles Settle, Percussion, Toronto Symphony
Madeline Sharp, Viola, Atlanta Symphony
Kelly Zimba, Flute, Toronto Symphony
Josh Cote, Horn, Sarasota Orchestra
Jennise Hwang, Violin, Pacific Symphony



To our NWS alumni – is your name missing?  Would you like to be included?  Please send us an email!

Carnival Corporation & PLC Knight Foundation The Kovner Foundation City of Miami Beach Miami-Dade County Yamaha Artist Services Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Baptist Health South Florida